Lunch convo

So today a story came up that I shared with my lunch friends. Even today I laugh. It’s one of those stories that had holes. I can’t remember all of it but from what I remember, it was fun and here’s the short form:

The night began when I paid $20 for a sunset booze cruise on a large catamaran in the Florida Keys and ended up in a dressing room of strippers while my new Canadian friends waited for my return.

Yeh, it was a night. A great night. That $20 got me all the beer i could drink on a large beautiful catamaran while listening to reggae as the sun sank into the ocean near Mallory Square.

The only rules on board: drink a lot and don’t put toliet paper in the head (boat toilet) since the pump wasn’t powerful enough for it and it would clog. About 5 drinks in an announcement was made that the toilet was indeed clogged and we were out of luck if we had to go. Seriously, who shit? I mean come on. At least we had booze, tunes and a righteous 360g degree view.

So the boat tour continued and by the time the boat docked, I had befriended the two boatmates and an older couple from Canada. The mates allowed us to stay on board and finish the keg while they scrubbed the boat down for the night. They explained it was their last night and as soon as they finished they were going to drink with us.

Eventually the keg kicked and my Canadian friends and I wandered into the streets of Key West looking for our next drink and adventure.

This is where the night becomes blurry.

I have a photograph of myself and both sides of me two police officers. Luckily they both looked happy as they posed for the picture. So obviously, I hadn’t gotten in trouble. The only other thing I remember is climbing stairs to a bar, which turned out to be a strip club. I remember trying to find the bathroom but ending up in the dressing room talking with the performers. They were really nice girls.

I cannot tell you what happened after that but I’m due it wasn’t interesting. Probably a cab back to the room.

$20 got me a good buzz, a cool boat ride with nice mates, new Canadian friends, and quality convo with strippers as they put clothes back on.

It was a good night. Thank God this was all before cell phones were popular.

Leave a comment